During the complete daily seva routine in a Haveli (Nitya Seva), total of four aartis are done to Shree Prabhu. Two of them with the Madhurya Bhav and the other two with the bhav of Vatsalya Bhav.

Usual No. of Aarti’s in a day

1.Mangla Aarti

2.Rajbhog Aarti

3.Sandhya Aarti

4.Shayan Aarti

These Aartis are of two types:

1. Thaali aarti: This aarti is displayed in  bronze or silver plate  and is artistically decorated with designs for most likely representing the occassion. Some of the designs have been shown which correspond to parituclar Utsavs in the next few pages.

2. Khand Aarti: These aartis are of 3 Khands.

A First Khand: 4 Batis
B. Second Khand: 7 Batis
C. Third Khand: 9 Batis


Why should we do Aarti?
Aarti is performed to ward off the evil eye as the Lord is so handsome and so charming, the evil eye may inadvertently fall from even those who love the Lord. The aarti takes away the evil – eye (nazar) and it also keeps any malicious spirits that may be in the vacinity at bay. Light being the oppressor of darkness, it represents conquest of good over evil.

Aarti in Pushti Marg

As a haveli is essentially a “private residence” of the Lord, there are no bells in the main hall or courtyard for people to ring. In the inner sanctum, during mangla aarti, bells are not rung and the jalar is struck in muted tones so as to be as gentle on the ears of the Lord as possible for the same reason, Utthapan darshan is also accompanied by little or no music while Rajbhog darshan has the full musical compliment of bells, jalar, drums.

We do not “take” the aarti after it is offered to the Lord. The concept of aarti is generally to ward off any evil eyes that might have fallen upon Him. While the ‘Mangla Aarati’ and ‘Sandhya Aarati’ is performed with the ‘bhavna’ of ‘Yashoda Maiya’, who performs ‘Aarti’ to ward off any evil effect of a bad dream that her ‘Lalaan’ may have seen in the night, or to ward off the evil eyes of any evil creatures while the ‘Lalaan’ was busy looking after the cows in the jungle.

The ‘Rajbhog Aarti’ and ‘Shayan Aarti’ is performed with the ‘bhavna’ of the ‘Gopis’ or ‘Vraj
Bhakt’ who are in the service of ‘Swaminiji’. They perform ‘Rajbhog Aarti’ to remove the
‘Viraha-taap’ that they experienced while Shreeji was away.

This is the reason why we do not ‘take’ the ‘Aarti’ once it is performed. Once the ‘taap’ is removed, it is not to be taken back as it is the time for ‘Sanyog’

Types of Baatis:

First Khand: Four Baatis: Pramaan, Pramey,Saadhan and Fal
Second Khand: 7 Baatis: Pramey, Bhakti, Asakti, Aavesh, Vyasan, Fal and Pranay

Third Khand: 9 Baatis: Navadha BHakti. 1. Shravan 2. Kirtana. 3. Smaran 4. Paad Sevan 5. Archana 6. Vandan 7. Dashya 8. Sakhya 9. Atmanivedanam

Aarti Designs

Rath Yatra

Thakurani treej

kasumbha chhat

Nrushi Jayanti


naag panchami



Raksha bandhan

Dhan teras

vasant panchami

pavitra Ekadashi

Akshay Trutiya


snan Yatra

Mahaprabhuji Utsav


Tilak ni Aarti